There has been a lot of press recently about the (miraculous?) appearance of samphire in supermarkets.  Don’t get me wrong, I think it is great, but fishmongers always have it on sale so I’m just not sure what all the fuss is about.

Anyway, I bought some today (from my fishmonger at the local market) along with two whole lemon sole.

It is food like this that was made for hungry people in a hurry.  Ten minutes under the grill with some lemon and butter.  Actual recipe from The River Cottage Fish Book if you’re interested.

I took one of the Rick Stein day courses before I had the boys.  It was fabulous, I learned so much and gained a lot of confidence when cooking fish.  There was plenty of wine too. I don’t have time for all the detailed work such as pin-boning at the moment so I haven’t cooked those recipes for a while.  So lemon sole it is.

I don’t usually make puddings during the week as we tend to have fruit (and then I sneak some chocolate after the children have gone to bed) but since we were served a most amazingly moist apricot cake made by the mother of a friend on our return from our trip to France I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it.  I didn’t even know where to start to make something similiar so I’ll have to ask for the recipe but I decided an apricot upsidedown cake was in order.  Then, by chance, I saw Thomasina Miers’ Mexican Food Made Simple last night where she poached some plums with rose syrup.  That did it.  It had to be a rosewatery apricoty upsidedown cake with almonds and blackberries. Yum.

